December 28, 2009

Ready to Share My Women Unbound Reading List

Posted in Uncategorized at 10:07 pm by lbrosch

After much searching of reviews and posted reading lists on the Women Unbound blog reading lists, I am ready to announce my  chosen reading list. I have several recommended books that I read before the November start so I can’t count those. I would recommend The Help, by Kathryn Stockett and Lucia, Lucia by Adriana Trigiani, A Walk on the Beach by Joan Anderson and The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stied Larsson.  The challenge levels are as follows:

  • Philogynist: read at least two books, including at least one nonfiction one.
  • Bluestocking: read at least five books, including at least two nonfiction ones.
  • Suffragette: read at least eight books, including at least three nonfiction one

I will of course be a suffragette reading at least 8 books with more than the three nonfiction required. So here goes my list:

Still Alice by Lisa Genova

Half the Sky by Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn

Between Two Worlds by Zainab Salbi

Stones into Schools by Greg Mortenson

Shanghai Girls by Lisa See

girl soldier by Faith J. H McDonnell and Grace Akallo

Half Broke Horses by Jeannette Walls

The Second Journey by Joan Anderson

Some additional books in this theme which I will also be reading during the upcoming months are: In Dependence by Sarah Ladipo Manyika, Jasmine and The Holder of the World by Bharati Mukherjee, Nectar in a Sieve by Kamala Markandaya, Gifts by Nuruddin Farah, The Best of Friends by Sara James and Ginger Mauney, The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson, The Caged Virgin and Infidel by Ayaan Hirsi Ali, What I Know Now:Letters to My Younger Self Edited by Ellyn Spragins, The Last Empress by Anchee Min, Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout, Chosen Forever by Susan Richards, Lives of Girls and Women by Alice Munro, February Flowers by Fan Wu, I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts About Being a Woman by Nora Ephron, The Makioka Sisters by Junichiro Tanazaki, The Girls, Lori Lansens, and Saving the World by Julia Alvarez. I have quite a few more but I will post more about those if and when I get to reading them. All of the above I hope to complete and blog about. But then if something new comes along I may have to read that first!

Leave a Reply

